Economic interest grouping

Groupement d’Intérêt économique Port de Liège
© PAL – Chris Renault>

The main outcome of the higher level of trade between Europe and Asia has been a rapid rate of growth in sea container traffic, which could lead to congestion in Antwerp seaport. In order to address this risk Antwerp has naturally sought to conclude agreements with the Port of Liege, located within Antwerp's natural hinterland. The aim is quite straightforward: developing effective cooperation between the Port of Antwerp and the Port of Liege so as to guarantee a seamless system of distribution downstream from the port cargo unloading system.

This is why the Antwerp port authorities immediately agreed to join forces with the Liege Port Authority and the SPI in early 2006 as part of an Economic Interest Grouping (EIG) designed to further the development and marketing of the future Liege Trilogiport multimodal platform.

  • This EIG is primarily concerned with allowing Port of Antwerp customers who do not need a coastal wharf to become established in its natural hinterland and with improving inward and outward mobility in Antwerp.
  • The EIG will also enable the Liege Port Authority to enjoy the benefits of major international companies that are drawn by the Port of Antwerp's status and decide to set-up on the sites inland, thereby enhancing the Liege Port Authority's international profile.
  • Lastly, it will help the SPI seek industrial units and services likely to offer value-adding opportunities for Liege Province's economy.
TOP

Le Groupement d’Intérêt économique

Groupement d’Intérêt économique Port de Liège
© PAL – Chris Renault>

Le développement du commerce entre l'Europe et l'Asie s'est traduit principalement par une croissance accélérée du trafic de conteneurs par la voie maritime. Cette croissance risque, à terme, d’engorger le port maritime d’Anvers qui, pour y faire face, s’est naturellement tourné vers le Port de Liège, situé dans l’hinterland naturel d’Anvers, afin de nouer des accords. L’objectif est simple : assurer une logistique fluide de distribution en aval du déchargement portuaire via une excellente collaboration entre le port d’Anvers et le port liégeois.

C’est d’ailleurs la raison pour laquelle les autorités portuaires anversoises se sont immédiatement associées début 2006 au Port autonome de Liège et à la SPI, dans le cadre du Groupement d’Intérêt Economique (G.I.E.), pour le développement et la commercialisation de la future plate-forme multimodale Liège Trilogiport.

  • Ce G.I.E. aura pour objectif notamment de permettre à des clients du port d’Anvers qui n’ont pas besoin d’un quai maritime de s’installer dans son hinterland naturel et d’améliorer la mobilité à l’entrée et à la sortie d’Anvers.
  • Ce G.I.E. permettra également au Port autonome de Liège de bénéficier de l’installation sur ses terrains de grandes entreprises internationales attirées par l’importance du Port d’Anvers et mieux asseoir le caractère international du Port autonome de Liège.
  • Enfin, il permettra à la SPI de rechercher des unités industrielles et de services susceptibles d’apporter une plus-value à l’économie de la Province de Liège.
TOP