Tasks

 
Liege as a port plays host to hundreds of companies of all shapes and sizes.

As a result of ongoing cooperation between the private and public sectors, the Liege Port Authority is an effective value-adding tool for promoting new ideas.

A state-owned corporation established pursuant to the Law of 21 June 1937, amended by the Law of 10 January 1969, the Liege Port Authority is responsible for managing 31 ports along the river Meuse and the Albert Canal. Its main tasks are:
 
  • carrying out all infrastructural extension and improvement projects (levelling, sewers, drains, street and industrial lighting, driving power, road and rail connections, water, telephone, etc.) required for the economic viability of the sites;
  • granting concessions and permits to third parties;
  • collecting user fees primarily so as to cover the operating costs (wages, port maintenance, ...) and help pay for infrastructure operations along with the support of the MIT (Walloon Ministry of Infrastructure and Transport) ;
  • fitting out ports and regulating their use (halls for storage / handling, cranes, cargo hoists, on-land equipment, etc.);
  • regulating the movement and berthing of vessels in state-owned ports.
  • maintaining, at its own expense, all port structures;
  • collecting all the proceeds of the operation and management of the ports, in particular: the proceeds of renting out movable and immovable property, collecting tolls, fees, wharfage charges, the proceeds of renting out sites and equipment, hangars, generally speaking any proceeds from using structures covered by its jurisdiction;
  • any other operations that might be assigned to the Liege Port Authority pursuant to royal decrees and decrees of the Walloon Government.

In its capacity as a private company, the Liege Port Authority is responsible for its income and expenditure.

It enjoys a high degree of independence in taking any decisions it thinks are valid for its sustainable management.

TOP

Missions

 
Liège est un port qui accueille des centaines d'entreprises de toutes tailles et de tous types.

Une collaboration constante entre le secteur privé et le secteur public a fait du Port autonome de Liège un outil performant, porteur de valeur ajoutée au service d'idées nouvelles.

Etablissement public créé par la loi du 21 juin 1937 modifiée par la loi du 10 janvier 1969 et par le décret-programme du 18 décembre 2003, le Port autonome de Liège qui gère 32 ports échelonnés le long de la Meuse et du canal Albert, a pour missions essentielles :
  • l’exécution de tous les travaux d'extension et d'amélioration d'infrastructures (nivellements, égouts, collecteurs, éclairage public et industriel, force motrice, raccordements routiers et ferroviaires, eau, téléphone, etc.) nécessaires à la viabilisation économique de ses terrains;
  • l’octroi des concessions et des autorisations à des tiers;
  • la perception des redevances de ses usagers afin principalement de couvrir ses frais de fonctionnement (salaires, entretien des ports, ...) mais également afin de financer des travaux d'infrastructure avec l'aide du S.P.W. (Service Public de Wallonie) ;
  • l'outillage des ports et à la réglementation de leur usage (halls de stockage / manutention, grues, portiques, engins au sol, etc.);
  • la réglementation du mouvement et du stationnement des bateaux dans les ports publics.
  • l'entretien, à ses frais exclusifs, de tous les ouvrages du Port;
  • la perception de tous les produits quelconques de l'exploitation des ports, notamment: produits de location des biens meubles et immeubles, perception des péages, des redevances, des droits de quai, des produits de location de terrains et de matériel, de hangars, généralement de tous produits quelconques de l'exploitation des ouvrages compris dans sa circonscription;
  • toutes autres opérations qui pourraient être confiées au Port autonome de Liège par arrêtés royaux et du Gouvernement wallon.

Comme une société privée, le Port autonome de Liège est responsable de ses recettes et de ses dépenses.

Il jouit d'une grande liberté pour prendre toutes les décisions qu'il jugerait utiles à son exploitation rationnelle.

TOP